The New Wheat & Gluten-Free Me!

Hi–I’m (as of today) Wheat-Free Sandy,    and this is my story…

                                                           Me_&_my_New_Do_Utah_2014

…after having bariatric surgery 8 years ago and losing a whopping 200 lbs. I’ve, sadly, regained a good deal of weight in the last 4 years. The weight, seemingly, magically appeared and it seems like I’m a walking magnet for fat these days!

Oddly enough, the weight continues to pile on, even though my stomach can hold very little during mealtimes (generally less than 10 oz. of food & liquids per meal). You would think that since my little stomach can’t hold much, weight gain wouldn’t be an issue, right?  Yeah, that’s what I thought too…until I added a whopping 55 pounds, seemingly overnight, to my body mass. Granted, it hasn’t been overnight, but over the course of the last 4 years. Still, that’s an addition of nearly 14 lbs. a year or over a pound each month!!  

Realizing that this insanity has to STOP before I regain all 200 lbs., I began reviewing what I’ve added back to my diet in the last 4 years to effect such a rapid weight gain. The one consistent thing that I’ve identified is the gradual addition of wheat and wheat products and other grains to my diet.  Feeling seriously sluggish, overwhelmed and dismayed with the various ‘diets’ out here–many that I cannot try because of potential nutrient deficiencies, I began looking for ways to lose this excessive weight and control weight-gain for the long-haul. In my search, I came across the book:

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back To Health by William Davis MD

                                                   Wheat_Belly_Dr._Davis

Dr. Davis, a well-known cardiologist, struck a chord with me regarding the negative affects of wheat and other grains in my diet and I had an A-Ha! moment. My A-Ha! moment is the reason for my decision to dump the wheat along with several other grains that I’ve added back into my daily diet over the last 4 years. So, I am doing a 3 month ‘experiment’ with removing wheat and gluten from my diet and if you haven’t ‘been there, done that already, I invite you to join me in this ‘experimental’ journey! If you have already given up wheat and grains, the rest of us need to hear (okay, read) from you and learn from your experience!  My Goal? To lose the excess weight and regain my energy!  Even if you have only that stubborn last 5, seemingly ‘eternal’ lbs. to lose, this may be what you are looking for!  So, let’s get going, and share our thoughts, info., recipes, & progress along the way!  And don’t forget to join me in sharing how you FEEL–both physically and emotionally throughout our journey together! 

Leave a Reply

