Day Four–Holy TWIZZLERS, Batman!! Everything’s Coming up Wheat!!! (Saturday, 9/6/14)

Day Four and I was nearly out of everything that didn’t contain wheat…or cornmeal…or significant amounts of sugars.  So I decided to make my first Wheat-Free stroll through the grocery store. I was amazed at how many foods contain wheat!!  The only non-chocolate candy I really love is Twizzlers.  Who knew they contained WHEAT??  TWIZZLERS…REALLY??  Also found some other no-nos like Corn Starch, Corn Syrup & Soy Lecithin!  No wonder I like them–they are made of everything that’s making me sick!  :-/

               Rainbow Twizzlers   Twizzlers-Licorice-Risk-Score-Diagram_dyediet

 I soon realized what I’d planned to be a mere 15 minutes in the store would become a nightmarish hour long marathon as I had to read every single label attached the foods I wanted to be sure it didn’t contain the naughty stuff!! So, since I’m still allowing myself at least one grain–Rice–I decided to see what I could find when I came across a box of pasta that was labeled “Wheat and Gluten Free!”.  I was so excited that I burst into the Hallelujah Chorus!!   Then, I began to read the label and found out it was a 100% CORN product!!  Aaarrrghh!!!  CORN, of All things!!  SIGH. Grrrrrrr!!  Nearly EVERYTHING in the store contained either Wheat or Corn.

                                                               Le-Veneziane-Gluten-Free-Eliche-Corn-Pasta-898527001026

 Since Aldi doesn’t carry Almond or Coconut Flour or Tapioca starch, I had to wait ’til I got to Walmart, because I live in a one-horse town wherein the 1 REAL organic/health food stores is only open for a short time on Saturdays!  😦

                                                                  almond_flour

 So I drove over to Walmart since a good friend told me Walmart carries Almond and Coconut flour only to find my location carries only Coconut Flour. My friend was half-right. I found NO Almond flour, but boxes of Rice flour a jar of Coconut flour which I invested in along with some Chia & Flax seeds and a rice-based chocolate cake mix. Have never had a rice-tapioca starch based chocolate cake, so this should be interesting.   I’m hesitant, however, about trying these types of deserts and/or adding them into my nearly grain free diet, as the only grain I’m eating now is Rice and that’s not in flour-form, but already cooked. I’ll give it a try, but since I’ve already lost 4 lbs. in 4 days, (WHOOT!) I will keep it as a once-a-week treat if it works out well.

                                                            Chocolate_cake_gluten_free 

 I’ll let you know how it goes!  🙂  In the meantime, please share some of your favorite wheat-free and/or corn-free recipes  🙂 

Leave a Reply

